Dhuper slams ton in Odisha win

Cuttack, Jan 29, 2018 (Team OCA): 

Odisha capped their East Zone U-23 Men's One-day League campaign with an all-win record, drubbing Tripura by 92 runs in their fourth and last match at JSCA Oval Ground in Ranchi today. In-form stumper-batsman Rajesh Dhuper starred in the win, hitting a whirlwind 101 off 86 balls with the help of nine fours and five sixes.

Opting to bat after winning the toss, Odisha piled up a strong total of 309 for seven. Dhuper and Sandeep Pattanaik gave Odisha a flying start, stitching together 160 runs for the opening wicket. Pattanaik made 76 off 116 balls. Captain Subhranshu Senapati, Devendra Singh Kunwar and Debabrata Pradhan also made notable contributions with the bat.

Chasing the stiff target, Tripura were bowled out for 217. B Debnath scored a half-century for Tripura. Among Odisha bowlers, Debabrata Pradhan and Subham Nayak bagged three wickets each, while Rajkishan Patel picked up a brace. Odisha emerged East Zone champions with 16 points, while Bengal finished runners-up with three wins and 12 points.


ODISHA: Rajesh Dhuper c Debnath b Dey 101, Sandeep Pattanaik st Sinha b Mandal 76, Subhransu Senapati c Dey b Saha 29, Devendra S Kunwar b Vats 28, Debasish Samantray (run out) Ghosh 19, Ranjit Paikaray c Ghosh b Vats 1, Debabrata Pradhan (not out) 33, Rajkishan Patel lbw Vats 5, Ashutosh Das (not out) 7; Extras (w-8, b-1, lb-1) 10
Total (7 wickets; 50 overs) 309
Did not bat: Rahul Choudhary, Subham Nayak
Fall of wickets: 1-160 (Dhuper, 28.6 ov), 2-206 (Pattanaik, 36.6), 3-210 (Senapati, 37.2), 4-236 (Samantray, 42.2), 5-239 (Paikaray, 42.6), 6-275 (Kunwar, 46.6), 7-284 (Patel, 48.2)
Bowling: Neelambuj Vats 9-0-58-3, B Debnath 2-0-17-0, T Mandal 6-0-29-1, S Ghosh 5-0-29-0, J Deb 10-0-49-0, V Saha 9-0-74-1, R Dey 9-0-51-1.

TRIPURA: B Ghosh b Nayak 17, A Sinha c Pattanaik b Nayak 19, M Debbarma c Senapati b Nayak 8, R Dey lbw Patel 20, S Gan c Paikaray b Pradhan 46, S Ghosh c Kunwar b Samantray 19, B Debnath c Kunwar b Choudhury 63, Neelambuj Vats lbw Pradhan 2, V Saha b Pradhan 13, T Mandal c Choudhary b Patel 2, J Deb (not out) 1; Extras (w-4, b-1, lb-2) 7
Total (All out; 50 overs) 217
Fall of wickets: 1-20 (B Ghosh, 4.2 ov), 2-39 (Debbarma, 10.3), 3-52 (Sinha, 12.6), 4-68 (Dey, 15.1), 5-120 (S Ghosh, 28.1 ov), 6-150 (Gan, 37.3), 7-152 (Vats, 39.1), 8-169 (Saha, 41.6), 9-177 (Mandal, 44.3), 10-217 (Debnath, 49.6)
Bowling: Debabrata Pradhan 7-0-31-3, Ashutosh Das 3-0-16-0, Subham Nayak 10-0-19-3, Rahul Choudhary 7-1-47-1, Rajkishan Patel 10-1-36-2, Debasish Samantray 10-0-48-1, Subhransu Senapati 3-0-17-0.

PHOTO: File photo of Odisha wicketkeeper-batsman Rajesh Dhuper.