Hattrick of wins for Odisha U-23 men

Cutack, Jan 27, 2018 (Team OCA): 

Odisha registered a hat-trick of wins in the East Zone Under-23 Men's One-day League, defeating Assam by 13 runs at JSCA Oval Ground in Ranchi today. With three wins in a row, Odisha qualified for the knock-out stage, which would take place at Kanpur from February 4 to 13.

Captain Subhranshu Senapati once again played instrumental role in the hard-fought win over Assam, scoring a century, which was his second in the ongoing league. Riding on an 82-ball 107 (8x4, 6x6) by Senapati, Odisha mustered a healthy total of 311 for six after opting to bat first. In reply, Assam made a valiant attempt to overhaul the target, but were restricted to 298 for eight. .

Today's sparkling knock helped Senapati become the second top scorer of the tournament, behind B Anirudh (411 from 5 matches) of Tamil Nadu, with a total of 326 runs from three matches. However in terms of highest average, Senapati now leads the table with whopping figures of 326.00. In his earlier two innings, he scored 76 not out against Jharkhand and 143 not out against Bengal. .

Five other Odisha players performed well today. Among them, Sandeep Pattanaik (71), Ranjit Paikaray (48 not out) and Devendra Singh Kunwar (45) shone with the bat, while Ashutosh Das and Rajkishan Patel flourished with the ball, picking up three wickets each. Odisha will play their fourth and last league match against Tripura on Jan 29. .


ODISHA: Rajesh Dhuper b Dutta 5, Sandeep Pattanaik st Roy b Raija 71, Debasish Samantray b Raija 11, Subhransu Senapati b Raija 107, Devendra S Kunwar c Gogoi b Dutta 45, Ranjit Paikaray (not out) 48, Debabrata Pradhan c Agarwal b Dutta 8, Rajkishan Patel (not out) 0; Extras (nb-2, w-12, b-1, lb-1) 16
Total (6 wickets; 50 overs) 311
Did not bat: Tarakanta Samal, Ashutosh Das, Subham Nayak
Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Dhuper, 2.3 ov), 2-26 (Samantray, 5.5), 3-197 (Pattanaik, 33.4), 4-205 (Senapati, 35.1), 5-286 (Kunwar, 47.5), 6-301 (Pradhan, 49.4)
Bowling: Mrinmoy Dutta 9-0-70-3, Kalam Raija 10-0-48-3, Abhilash Gogoi 10-0-43-0, Raj Agarwal 7-0-53-0, Rajjakuddin Ahmed 10-0-65-0, Mujibur Ali 4-0-30-0.

ASSAM: Prasenjit Sarkar b Patel 52, Abhishek Thakuri lbw Nayak 23, Mujibur Ali c Senapati b Das 41, Hrishikesh Tamuli c Pradhan b Das 56, Romario Sharma c Kunwar b Pradhan 31, Erik Roy lbw Patel 5, Rajjakuddin Ahmed b Patel 17, Abhilash Gogoi (not out) 59, Mrinmoy Dutta c Patel b Das 0, Raj Agarwal (not out) 5; Extras (w-6, lb-3) 9
Total (8 wickets; 50 overs) 298
Fall of wickets: 1-67 (Thakuri, 11.6 ov), 2-97 (Sarkar, 18.3), 3-162 (M Ali, 32.1), 4-194 (Tamuli, 37.3), 5-201 (Roy, 38.2), 6-228 (R Ahmed, 42.4), 7-250 (Sharma, 45.6), 8-250 (Dutta, 46.1)
Bowling: Debabrata Pradhan 10-0-53-1, Ashutosh Das 10-0-84-3, Tarakanta Samal 7-0-59-0, Subham Nayak 10-2-27-1, Rajkishan Patel 10-0-51-3, Debasish Samantray 3-0-21-0.