Senapati leads U-23 men to victory

Cuttack, Jan 23, 2018 (Team OCA): 

An unbeaten knock of 76 by captain Subhranshu Senapati and a three-wicket haul by Tarakanta Samal helped Odisha beat host Jharkhand by seven wickets in their opening match of the East Zone U-23 Men's One-day League at JSCA Oval Ground in Ranchi today.

Chasing a competitive target of 188, Odisha romped home with 13.1 overs to spare, losing only three wickets in the process. Senapati hit eight fours and four sixes in his breezy 64-ball knock. He capped the win, putting on 76 runs for the unfinished fourth-wicket partnership with Devendra Singh Kunwar, who remained unbeaten for 28. Rajesh Dhuper and Sandeep Pattanaik also made notable contributions of 35 and 36 runs respectively for Odisha.

Earlier electing to bat, Jharkhand were bowled out for 187 in 40.3 overs. Samal was most successful Odisha bowler for Odisha, conceding 38 runs for his three wickets. Jamala Bhanja Mohapatra also bowled well, chipping in with a brace. Odisha will next meet Bengal on January 25.


JHARKHAND: Wilfred Beng lbw Pradhan 0, Shasheem (run out) Kunwar 13, Shresht Sagar c Paikaray b Nayak 33, Utkarsh Singh c Senapati b Samal 11, Kumar Suraj c Pradhan b Mohapatra 31, Rahil Reyaz Khan (run out) Dhuper 24, Supriyo Chakraborty b Samal 29, Nishikant Kumar lbw Mohapatra 0, Sonu Kumar Singh (run out) Pattanaik 31, Pratik Ranjan c Pradhan b Samal 1, Shubham Kumar Singh (not out) 0; Extras (nb-1, w-6, lb-7) 14
Total (All out; 40.3 overs) 187
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Beng, 0.1 ov), 2-29 (Shasheem, 5.4), 3-49 (U Singh, 12.4), 4-82 (Sagar, 19.1), 5-118 (Suraj, 24.6), 6-121 (Rahil, 26.6), 7-122 (N Kumar, 28.4), 8-183 (Chakraborty, 38.5), 9-187 (Sonu Singh, 39.6), 10-187 (P Ranjan, 40.3)
Bowling: Debabrata Pradhan 7-1-19-1, Tarakanta Samal 7.3-1-38-3, Ashutosh Das 6-0-26-0, Subham Nayak 8-1-39-1, Jamala B Mohapatra 10-0-51-2, Debasish Samantray 2-0-7-0.

ODISHA: Debasish Samantray c Sagar b U Singh 12, Rajesh Dhuper st Sagar b Sonu Singh 35, Sandeep Pattanaik lbw Shubham Singh 36, Subhransu Senapati (not out) 76, Devendra S Kunwar (not out) 28; Extras (w-2) 2
Total (3 wickets; 36.5 overs)189
Did not bat: Jamala B Mohapatra, Tarakanta Samal, Ashutosh Das, Ranjit Paikaray, Debabrata Pradhan, Subham Nayak
Fall of wickets: 1-31 (Samantray, 7.5 ov), 2-58 (Dhuper, 15.2), 3-113 (Pattanaik, 26.4)
Bowling: Shubham Kumar Singh 8-0-41-1, Sonu Kumar Singh 9-2-39-1, Utkarsh Singh 2.5-0-36-1, Pratik Ranjan 9-2-27-0, Nishikant Kumar 3-0-15-0, Shasheem 3-0-13-0, Supriyo Chakraborty 2-0-18-0.

PHOTO: Odisha U-23 captain Subhranshu Senapati at JSCA Oval in Ranchi on January 23, 2018.