Cooch Behar Trophy: TN 332/1 vs Odisha

Cuttack, Dec 25, 2017 (Team OCA): 

Host Tamil Nadu rode on an unbeaten century by captain Aditya Barooah and a half-century each by S Nidhish Rajagopal and Pradosh Ranjan Paul to make 332 for one at the close of opening day of their four-day Cooch Behar Trophy U-19 Group-A match against Odisha at TNCA Academy in Theni today.

Put into bat by Odisha captain Raghunath Malla, Tamil Nadu made an awesome start with Barooah and Rajgopal putting on 212 runs for the opening wicket. The latter was first to lose his wicket after hitting a stroke-filled 89. That was the only success for Odisha bowlers, who, otherwise, toiled thorough out the day.

Leading the home team's batting line-up with personal example, Barooah pulverized the opposition bowling attack with his towering knock. When stumps were drawn for the day, Barooah was going strong on 176 (24x4) and Paul was giving him company on 63.


TAMIL NADU: Aditya Barooah (batting) 176, S Nidhish Rajagopal b S Behera 89, Pradosh Ranjan Paul (batting) 63; Extras (nb-1, w-3) 4
Total (1 wicket; 92 overs) 332
Fall of wickets: 1-212 (Rajagopal, 55.1 ov)
Bowler: Shibasish Sahoo 9-2-34-0, Shekhar Majhi 11-2-48-0, Swastik Samal 5-0-14-0, Krishna Palai 27-0-91-0, Pritam Jena 22-1-76-0, Binit Mohanty 1-0-5-0, Sisir Behera 12-1-39-1, Raghunath Malla 1-0-8-0, Jyoti R Behera 4-0-17-0.