Odisha U-23 eves lose zonal T20 opener

Cuttack, Mar 17, 2018 (Team OCA): 

Impressive knock of 46 by Silpa Swain went in vain as Odisha lost to Bengal by eight wickets in their opening match of the East Zone Under-23 Women T20 League at Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati today. Chasing 93 for victory, Bengal romped home in 17.1 overs, losing two wickets in the process.

Earlier opting to bat, Odisha made a modest total of 92 for nine in the stipulated overs. Silpa waged a lone battle, hitting six boundaries in her 44-ball knock. No other Odisha batter could reach double digits. S Aich and N Maji captured four and three wickets respectively for Bengal.

Among Odisha bowlers, both the wickets were claimed by Louisa Dash. Led by Anjali Singh, Odisha will play their second league match against Assam tomorrow.
ODISHA: Sasmita Mahalik b Maji 9, Anjali Singh c Prativa b Richa 5, Silpa Swain c Mita Paul b Maji 46, Poonam Nayak lbw Aich 5, Sumitra Sahoo st P Paul b Aich 5, Reemalaxmi Ekka st P Paul b Aich 4, D Janaki Reddy lbw Aich 0, Sangeeta Khadia (not out) 9, Rajashree Swain b Maji 0, Barasarani Singh b Mita 2; Extras (nb-1, w-3, b-1, lb-2) 7
Total (9 wickets; 20 overs) 92
Did not bat:Louisa Dash
Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Anjali, 2.5 ov), 2-33 (Sasmita, 8.6), 3-50 (Poonam, 11.5), 4-63 (Sumitra, 15.1), 5-77 (Reemalaxmi, 17.3), 6-77 (Janaki, 17.4), 7-87 (Silpa, 18.3), 8-87 (Rajashree, 18.4), 9-92 (Barasarani, 19.6)
Bowling: Richa 3-0-13-1, P Choudhary 3-0-13-0, N Maji 3-0-7-3, Mita Paul 3-0-16-1, P Pandey 4-0-20-0, S Aich 4-0-20-4.
BENGAL: Ambika Guha c Sangeeta b Louisa 27, Richa c Rajashree b Louisa 20, P Paul (not out) 21, Prativa (not out) 11; Extras (w-8, b-6, lb-2) 16
Total (2 wickets; 17.1 overs) 95
Fall of wickets: 1-49 (Richa, 7.5 ov), 2-65 (Ambika, 11.5 ov)
Bowling: Reemalaxmi Ekka 3-0-9-0, Rajashree Swain 2-0-21-0, Barasarani Singh 3.1-0-19-0, Louisa Dash 4-0-14-2, D Janaki Reddy 4-0-17-0, Anjali Singh 1-0-7-0.