Odisha U-23 women lose to Bengal

Cuttack, Feb 27, 2018 (Team OCA): 

Fine all-round performance by captain Sushree Dibyadarshini Pradhan went in vain as Odisha lost to Bengal by six wickets in their second match of the East Zone Under-23 Women's One-day League at Eden Gardens in Kolkata today. This was the first defeat in two matches for Odisha, who would next meet Assam tomorrow.

Riding on a 102-ball 70 by Sushree and a 96-ball 50 by Sangeeta Khadia Odisha made a respectable total of 157 after electing to bat. The duo put on 123 runs in their fourth-wicket stand to rescue Odisha from 24 for three. However, Odisha failed to muster a bigger total as they lost their last seven wickets for a paltry 10 runs.

Needing 158 for victory, host Bengal ropmped home with 9.2 overs to spare. Tanushree Sarkar was the star performer for Bengal, taking four wickets and scoring an unbeaten 63. For Odisha, captain Sushree Pradhan was most successful bowler, taking three wickets for 42 runs.


ODISHA: Sasmita Mahalik c N Maji b Tanusree 12, Anjali Singh lbw Salma 5, Rani Tudu c Saika b Tanusree 0, Sushree Dibyadarshini Pradhan st Aparna b N Maji 70, Sangeeta Khadia (run out) Salma 50, Reemalaxmi Ekka (run out)Tanusree 0, Sumitra Sahoo c N Maji b Tanusree 5, D Janaki Reddy st Aparna b Tanusree 0, Kuni Badara b N Maji 1, Rajashree Swain (run out) Saika 2, Louisa Dash (not out) 1; Extras (w-8, lb-3) 11
Total (All out; 49.4 overs) 157
Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Anjali, 8.1 ov), 2-21 (Rani, 12.2), 3-24 (Sasmita, 16.5), 4-147 (Sangeeta, 46.4), 5-148 (Reemalaxmi, 46.6), 6-153 (Sushree, 47.5), 7-153 (Sumitra, 48.1), 8-153 (Janaki, 48.2), 9-156 (Rajashree, 49.1), 10-157 (Kuni, 49.4 ov) Bowling: Salma Khatun 6-3-10-1, Richa 4-0-10-0, N Maji 9.4-2-21-2, Tanusree Sarkar 10-1-33-4, Deepti 9-2-30-0, S P Aich 4-0-27-0, Saika Ishaque 5-0-19-0, Mita Paul 2-0-4-0.

BENGAL: Aparna Mondal c Kuni b Sushree 12, Deepti lbw Reemalaxmi 4, Tanusree Sarkar (not out) 63, P Paul st Sumitra b Sushree 18, Richa c Reemalaxmi b Sushree 34, Prativa (not out) 12; Extras (w-11, b-4) 15
Total (4 wickets; 40.4 overs)158
Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Deepti , 4.1 ov), 2-26 (Aparna, 12.2), 3-70 (P Paul, 23.5), 4-136 (Richa, 36.4)
Bowler: Reemalaxmi Ekka 7-1-25-1, Rajashree Swain 9-0-24-0, Sushree Pradhan 9.4-0-42-3, D Janaki Reddy 5-0-23-0, Anjali Singh 2-0-7-0, Louisa Dash 7-0-21-0, Kuni Badara 1-0-12-0