Ranji match: MP take big lead vs Odisha

Cuttack, Nov 26, 2017 (Team OCA): 

After conceding a first-innings lead of 241 runs, Odisha were 18 for no loss in the second at the close of second day of their four-day Ranji Trophy Group-C match against host Madhya Pradesh at Holkar Stadium in Indore today. Openers Rajesh Dhuper and Ranjit Singh were batting on 11 and seven respectively when stumps were drawn for the day. Odisha now trail by 223 runs with all 10 wickets intact.

Earlier, in reply to a modest first-innings total of 147 by Odisha, Madhya Pradesh were all out for 388 after resuming at the overnight score of 96 for one. Opener Rajat Patidar scored a century, while captain Devendra Bundela and Puneet Datey hit a half-century for the home team. After reaching 244 for three, Madhya Pradesh suffered a middle-order collapse as four wickets fell in space of three runs.

However, a 100-run partnership for the eighth wicket between Patidar and Datey enabled them take the sizeable first-innings lead. Odisha captain Govinda Poddar was the most successful bowler for his side, taking a career-best haul of seven wickets for 102 runs.


ODISHA (1st innings): 147
MADHYA PRADESH (1st innings): Rajat Patidar c Dhuper b Poddar 123, Aryaman Birla lbw Poddar 16, Devendra Bundela c Sahoo b Poddar 62, Shubham Sharma lbw Poddar 5, Harpreet Bhatia c Sahoo b Poddar 36, Ankit Dane lbw Behera 2, Ankit Sharma c Dhuper b Behera 0, Puneet Datey b Poddar 56, Mihir Hirwani (run out) Samantaray 49, Ishwar Pandey c D Singh (Sub) b Poddar 28, Chandrakant Sakure (not out) 1; Extras (b-5, lb-4, nb-1) 10
Total (All out; 115 overs) 388
Fall of wicket: 1-72 (Birla, 24.6 ov), 2-186 (Bundela, 54.6), 3-193 (S Sharma, 56.6), 4-244 (H Bhatia, 75.3), 5-247 (Dane, 76.1), 6-247 (A Sharma, 76.4), 7-247 (Patidar, 77.4), 8-357 (Datey, 110.1), 9-361 (Hirwani, 111.4), 10-388 (Pandey, 114.6)
Bowling: Suryakant Pradhan 22-2-67-0, Deepak Behera 24-7-42-2, Alok Sahoo 16-2-55-0, Subham Nayak 15-3-70-0, Govinda Poddar 27-3-102-7, Biplab Samantaray 11-1-43-0.

ODISHA (2nd innings): R Dhuper (not out) 11, R Singh (not out) 7
Total (0 wkt; 10 overs) 18
Bowling: I Pandey 3-1-6-0, P Datey 3-0-9-0, M Hirwani 2-0-3-0, A Sharma 2-2-0-0.