Ranji match: Odisha 147 vs MP 96/1

Cuttack, Nov 25, 2017 (Team OCA): 

Host Madhya Pradesh were 96 for one at stumps, in reply to a modest first-innings total of 147 by Odisha on the opening day of their four-day Ranji Trophy Group-C match at Holkar Stadium in Indore today. Rajat Patidar was going strong on 72 and captain Devendra Bundela was giving him company on seven when stumps were drawn for the day. Madhya Pradesh now trail by 51 runs with nine wickets intact.

Put into bat, Odisha were in deep trouble losing openers Natraj Behera and Ranjit Singh with only 22 runs on the board. They never recovered from the early setbacks as wickets continued to fall in regular intervals. Only three batsmen were able to reach double figures and the team could not build a substantial partnership.

Shantanu Mishra waged a lone battle for Odisha and he became the top scorer for the side with a 100-ball 60, his second first-class half-century, which included 12 boundaries. Captain Govinda Poddar was another notable scorer, hitting 73-ball 36. Chandrakant Sakure was most successful Madhya Pradesh bowler, taking four wickets for 42 runs.

Odisha made three changes in their team that drew their previous match against Baroda at Vadodara. Opening batsman Sandeep Pattanaik, vice-captain Basant Mohanty and left-arm spinner Dhiraj Singh were replaced by Ranjit Singh, Deepak Behera and Subham Nayak.


ODISHA (1st innings): Ranjit Singh b Pandey 15, Natraj Behera b Datey 2, Govinda Poddar b A Sharma 36, Subhransu Senapati c Dane b Sakure 6, Shantanu Mishra c Dane b Datey 60, Biplab Samantaray c Dane b Sakure 6, Rajesh Dhuper b Pandey 4, Deepak Behera c Bhatia b Sakure 1, Alok Sahoo lbw Datey 8, Suryakant Pradhan b Sakure 0, Subham Nayak (not out) 4; Extras (lb 3, nb-1, w-1) 5
Total (All out; 52.2 overs) 147
Fall of wickets: 1-12 (N Behera, 1.6 ov), 2-22 (R Singh, 4.3), 3-41 (Senapati, 12.5), 4-85 (Poddar, 25.2), 5-105 (Samantaray, 33.6), 6-120 (Dhuper, 38.4), 7-125 (D Behera, 41.1), 8-137 (Mishra, 46.4), 9-138 (Pradhan, 47.5), 10-147 (Sahoo, 52.2)
Bowling: Ishwar Pandey 13-5-33-2, Puneet Datey 13.2-4-34-3, Ankit Sharma 6-0-25-1, Chandrakant Sakure 14.3-2-42-4, Mihir Hirwani 5.3-2-10-0.

MADHYA PRADESH (1st innings): R Patidar (not out) 72, A Birla lbw Poddar 16, D Bundela (not out) 7; Extras (nb-1) 1
Total (1 wkt; 34 overs) 96
Fall of wicket: 1-72 (Birla, 24.6 ov)
Bowling: Suryakant Pradhan 8-1-27-0, Deepak Behera 8-3-11-0, Alok Sahoo 5-1-12-0, Subham Nayak 3-0-14-0, Govinda Poddar 5-0-17-1, Biplab Samantaray 5-1-15-0.