U-19 match: Odisha lose to Chhattisgarh

Cuttack, Nov 21, 2017 (Team OCA): 

Defiant knock of 88 by Aakash Nayak and his 117-run partnership for the fourth wicket with Raghunath Malla proved in vain as Odisha lost to Chhattisgarh by 10 wickets on the penultimate day of their four-day Cooch Behar Trophy U-19 Group-A match at BSP Cricket Stadium in Bhilai today. Host Chhattisgarh gained seven points from the emphatic win, while Odisha drew blank.

Trailing by 174 runs in the first-innings and resuming their second at 133 for three, Odisha were all out for 221, leaving the home team with an easy target of 42 runs to win the match. Chhattisgarh knocked off the required runs without losing any wicket.

In their second innings, Odisha were well-placed at one stage, making 200 for three. But the dismissal of Aakash Nayak triggered a collapse and last seven wickets fell for 21 runs. This was first defeat in two matches for Odisha and they will next meet Punjab at Patiala from December 8 to 11.


ODISHA (1st innings): 65
CHHATTSIGARH (1st innings): 239
ODISHA (2nd innings): K Mallick b Rao 15, MR Nayak lbw Rao 8, S Samal c GS Sharma b Taank 34, A Nayak (run out) 88, R Malla (run out) 46, K Bal c GS Sharma b Dhar 2, A Sahu b Taank 0, K Palai (not out) 3, R Mohanty c Rao b H Sharma 9, S Bharadwaj lbw Dhar 2, U Yadav b Dhar 0; Extras (b-1, lb-6, nb-6, w-1) 14
Total (All out; 107.1 overs) 221
Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Nayak, 5.1 ov), 2-37 (Mallick, 23.6), 3-83 (Samal, 40.5), 4-200 (Nayak, 93.6), 5-205 (Malla, 100.3), 6-205 (Sahu, 100.4), 7-205 (Bal, 101.1), 8-218 (Mohanty, 103.3), 9-220 (Bharadwaj, 105.1), 10-221 (Yadav, 107.1)
Bowling: P Dhar 16.1-2-53-3, N Dhruw 10-1-26-0, A Rao 22-8-49-2, R Taank 25-14-29-2, U Tiwari 14-6-23-0, H Sharma 18-19-30-1, S Hurkat 2-1-4-0.

CHHATTSIGARH (2nd innings): S Hurkat (not out) 6, P Yadav (not out) 41; Extras (w-1) 1
Total (0 wicket; 7.4 overs) 48
Bowling: Rajesh Mohanty 4-2-16-0, Umesh Yadav 1-0-12-0, Satyakam Bharadwaj 1-0-12-0, Ayaskant Sahu 1-0-5-0, Aakash Nayak 0.4-0-3-0.