Odisha U-23 team lose to Jharkhand

Cuttack, Nov 13, 2017 (Team OCA): 

Odisha lost to Jharkhand by nine wickets on the penultimate day of their four-day C K Nayudu Trophy U-23 Plate Group-B match at BLS Cricket Stadium in Bokaro today. This was the second defeat in five matches for Odisha and they ended their campaign on disappointing note, finishing last in the six-team group with three points.

After conceding a 240-run lead in the first innings, Odisha put up much better performance in the second innings as they mustered a sizeable total of 303 in the second innings, after resuming at the overnight score of were 43 for no loss. Chasing a victory target of 64, host Jharkhand easily romped home, losing only one wicket.

In the second innings, Debabrata Pradhan was the top scorer for Odisha, hitting a whirlwind 54-ball 66 with the help of seven boundaries and two sixes. Besides Pradhan, Debasish Samantray, Amrit Khatua, Saurabh Rawat, Subham Nayak, Pappu Roy and captain Devendra Kunwar made notable contributions.

ODISHA (1st innings): 186
JHARKHAND (1st innings): 426
ODISHA (2nd innings): D Samantray c Pal b Vikram 43, A Khatua lbw Vikram 38, S Samal b Vikram 2, D Kunwar lbw R Singh 23, S Rawat lbw Vikram 37, S Sabat c P Singh b Vikram 9, A Das st Pal b P Ranjan 0, D Pradhan c Pal b Shasheem 66, P Roy lbw Vikram 24, S Nayak (not out) 35, PKS Chohan ct & b Shasheem 17; Extras (b-4, lb-4, w-1) 9 Total (All out; 99.2 overs) 303
Fall of wickets: 1-72 (Khatua, 34.3 ov), 2-83 (Samantray, 40.5), 3-88 (Samal, 42.3), 4-129 (Kunwar, 54.5), 5-147 (Sabat, 60.3), 6-150 (A Das, 61.5), 7-166 (Rawat, 66.1), 8-231 (Pradhan, 76.5), 9-258 (Roy, 88.5), 10-303 (Chohan, 99.2 ov)
Bowling: V Vikram 26-4-89-6, P Ranjan 25-6-64-1, V Kumar 14-4-21-0, Ronit Singh 22-5-80-1, Virat Singh 4-1-14-0, Pratyush Singh 2-0-10-0, Shasheem 6.2-2-17-2.

JHARKHAND (2nd innings): Shasheem c Nayak b Roy 41, P Singh (not out) 25, S Chakraborty (not out) 1
Total (1 wicket; 7 overs) 67
Fall of wicket: 1-61 (Shasheem, 5.5 ov)
Bowling: D Pradhan 2-0-15-0, S Nayak 1-0-21-0, P Roy 2-0-12-1, A Das 1-0-13-0, S Rawat 1-0-6-0.