Ranji match: TN 530/8 decl vs Odisha 286/4

Cuttack, Nov 11, 2017 (Team OCA): 

Giving a brave reply to Tamil Nadu's mammoth first-inning total of 530 for eight declared, host Odisha were 286 for four at stumps on the penultimate day of their four-day Group-C Ranji Trophy match at DRIEMS Cricket Ground, Tangi, 20kms from here today. Shantanu Mishra and Biplab Samantaray were batting on 37 and 44 respectively when stumps were drawn for the day. Odisha now trail by 244 runs with six wickets in hand and need another 95 runs to avoid follow on.

Resuming at the overnight score of 36 for no loss, Odisha got a solid foundation with openers Sandeep Pattanaik and Natraj Behera putting on 128 runs for the opening wicket. But after notching his maiden first-class fifty, Pattanaik was dismissed for 66, which came off 192 balls and included 11 hits to the rope. Behera was more unlucky as he missed out on his ninth first-class century by nine runs. But his 208-ball knock, which was studded with 13 boundaries and one six, helped him return to form after a series of disappointing ones earlier this season.

With Behera adding 48 runs for the second wicket with captain Govinda Poddar, Odisha were well placed at one stage, making 176 for one. But Tamil Nadu allrounder Washington Sundar dismissed Poddar and Subhranshu Senapati in one over to put the home team on the back foot. Odisha, in fact, lost three wickets in space of 32 runs as Rahil Shah scalped opener Behera for 91. However, Mishra and Samantaray stemmed the rot by denying any more wicket to the opposition and putting on 78 runs for the unbroken fifth-wicket stand.

TAMIL NADU (1st innings): 530/8 decl
ODISHA (1st innings): Sandeep Pattanaik c K Gandhi (Sub) b Yomahesh 66, Natraj Behera lbw Shah 91, Govinda Poddar c Mukund b Sundar 29, Subhranshu Senapati b Sundar 4, Shantanu Mishra (batting) 37, Biplab Samantaray (batting) 44; Extras (b-11, lb-3, nb-1) 15
Total (4 wickets; 101 overs) 286
Fall of wickets: 1-128 (S Pattanaik, 41.3 ov), 2-176 (Poddar, 61.1), 3-180 (Senapati, 61.5), 4-208 (N Behera, 70.2)
Bowling: Vignesh K 22-5-60-0, V Yomahesh 13-4-31-1, Vijay Shankar 13-3-43-0, Rahil Shah 24-7-45-0, Washington Sundar 19-6-48-2, Lakshman 10-1-45-0.