U-19 match: Odisha 71/4 after follow on

Cuttack, Nov 07, 2017 (Team OCA): 

Forced to follow on after conceding a first-innings lead of 253 runs, host Odisha struggled at 71 for four in the second innings at the close of third day of their four-day Cooch Behar Trophy U-19 Group-A league match here at Ravenshaw University Ground today. The home team needs another 183 runs to avoid innings defeat with six wickets in hand.

Earlier in reply to a huge first-innings total of 473 by Saurashtra, Odisha were all out for 220 after resuming at the overnight score of 93 for two. Though Kunal Mallick, Raghunath Malla and skipper Swastik Samal scored a half-century each, Odisha failed to muster a sizeable total. Pacer Sachin Parmar bagged five wickets for Saurashtra. Following on, Odisha continued to lose wickets in regular intervals. When stumps were drawn for the day, Malla was batting well on 28 and Aakash Nayak giving him company on nine.


SAURASHTRA (1st innings): 473
ODISHA (1st innings): Kunal Mallick c Mandalia b Karia 58, Ayaskant Sahu b Karia 11, Swastik Samal c Karia b Parmar 50, Raghunath Malla (not out) 68, Aakash Nayak b Parmar 1, Partha Sarathi Nayak c Karia b Parmar 0, Kshyama Sagar Bal c Mandalia b Donga 19, Krishna Palai b Parmar 1, Rajesh Mohanty c Rana b Donga 1, Satyakam Bharadwaj lbw Parmar 6, Umesh Yadav c Karia b Diprajsinh 1; Extras (b-4) 4
Total (All out; 89.5 overs) 220
Fall of wickets: 1-69 (A Sahu, 20.2 ov), 2-80 (Mallick, 26.3), 3-142 (Samal, 43.5), 4-144 (A Nayak, 49.1), 5-144 (PS Nayak, 51.1), 6-188 (K Bal, 73.1), 7-189 (Palai, 76.5), 8-190 (R Mohanty, 79.1), 9-205 (Bharadwaj, 86.3), 10-220 (Yadav, 89.5)
Bowling: Sachin Parmar 32-8-86-5, Diprajsinh 4.5-0-32-1, Bhavyesh Donga 11-6-16-2, Khushal Seta 11-2-20-0, Pranav Karia 27-13-55-2, Pratik Mandalia 1-0-1-0, Amit Girgilani 3-1-6-0.

ODISHA (2nd innings): S Samal c Karia b Donga 14, K Mallick c Gohel b Diprajsinh 0, PS Nayak c Mandalia b Diprajsinh 10, R Malla (batting) 18, K Bal lbw Karia 4, A Nayak (batting) 9; Extras (b-4, lb-2) 6
Total (4 wickets; 31 overs) 71
Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Mallick, 1.2 ov), 2-22 (Samal, 4.2), 3-44 (Nayak , 15.4), 4-51 (Bal, 26.6)
Bowling: Parmar 2-0-14-0, Diprajsinh 10-3-18-2, Donga 7-2-19-1, Karia 9-5-10-1, Girgilani 3-2-4-0.